Focus

19 03 2009

Focus is, well, the focal point for any dog.  It comes in different degrees. And it’s not discipline, it’s DNA. DNA rendering by ynse
Like an Olympic sport, Olympic Medals and Reflections by Kevin H.it is the giving of one’s complete attention to the present. And, just like any competition, the results are always mixed. 
Take the squirrel.  Curious Squirrel by ::novocainated::As a dog, I follow a simple tenant: What goes up must come down.  I sit at the base of the tree, attention rapt on the teetering rodent above, saliva beginning to pool in my jowls.  The squirrel must come down, no?  So, I sit, drool whisping at my chin.
Alas, focus and eye-sight are seperate matters.  When the squirrel flees from the branch of one tree to another, all I see is a blur of fur and trembling needles from the pine above.
I sit.  I stay.  Darkness fades the outline of the tree and I remark to myself at the resolve of the squirrel to remain in limbo.  I refocus on food, the kind that comes from the cucina.La ricetta della pasta: Bucatini alla puttanesca by max - iogenovese
It’s not discipline.  It’s DNA.
Chow.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

